Norfolk, Virginia UFO Sighting

Sighting Basics

Case Number 84371
Date of the Sighting 2017-06-10 11:30
Date Submitted 2017-06-14 01:57 (Reported 3 Days Later)
Time Zone America/New York
Source MUFON
Summary Black sphere recorded by quadcopter cam during amatuer practice in parking lot. i was unnerved when a light blue jet ranger helicopter approached me and i landed immediately. the next day i discovered the black sphere on the cam video.
Tags video disc light hovering

Sighting Location

City Norfolk
Region Virginia
Coutntry United States
Postal Code 23518
Latitude 36.94147
Longitude -76.15904
The latitude and longitude presented here is an approximation to protect the reporters identity

Sighting Specifics

Viewing Distance 101-500 Feet
Alititude 500 Feet or Less
Sighting Duration 00:02:00
Object Features None
Object Flight Path Unknown
Object Shape Sphere

Weather Details

Max Temp 90°F / 32°C
Mean Temp 77°F / 25°C
Min Temp 64°F / 18°C
Max Visibility 10 Miles / 16 Kilometers
Mean Visibility 10 Miles / 16 Kilometers
Min Visibility 10 Miles / 16 Kilometers
Conditions No Abnormal Weather Conditions

Sighting Statistics

• There have been 1139 other sightings in Virginia
• There have been 35 other sightings in Norfolk
• There have been 2 other sightings in the postal code 23518
• There have been 181 other sightings near Norfolk
• There was one other sighting in or near Norfolk on 2017-06-10

Sighting Details

on Saturday June 10th 2017, I Thomas Allen McNabb was practicing flying a quadcopter with a camera mounted on the bottom in an empty parking lot at Bay point marina where my girlfriend resides at a condominium a block away. after retrieving my quadcopter from a tree I continued for a second flight. it was breezy and which required occasionally dipping the quad to stay within the lot boundary. once again I lost control and had to retrieve my new flying hobby out of a tree and commenced my third flight when I was startled by an approaching helicopter flying at a pretty good clip straight over pretty lake. I stopped adjacent to fly location on the other side of bay point marina. it was a really sharp looking bell jet ranger with a light blue paint scheme. i got scared thinking i may have done something wrong and quickly brought my quad down to the parking lot as the helicopter jammed the cyclic forward and left in a arcing left hand turn which brought him directly over me. i grabbed my quadcopter and controler and quickly placed them in my truck and drove to my girls house on mooring dr. the next day i downloaded the videos from the quadcopter cam and reviewed the footage and was shocked to find that from the first position i selected to fly over by a stone wall was a black sphere hovering over the houses directly behind me. the attached video picked it up on several frames however the quality is not great but it was a large solid object hovering over the fourth and 5th home on 30th bay. the first frame appearance is time signature 01:07. the quad does one spin and a dip and the sphere appears to second at time signature 01:21 to 01:22. I then realized that that blue jet ranger helicopter wasn’t looking for me. it was here because this area is close to Norfolk International airports flight path and that was most likely its origin. also, a point of interest nearby is us navy special warfare amphibious base directly across the water. the second attached video contains a few frames of the helicopter hauling butt over me probably in pursuit the sphere. this is everything I can gather from the events of that day and time. pretty interesting. I sure wish I had seen it with my own eyes too but this is still significant knowing that it was likely picked up on radar and a helicopter was dispatched to check it out.

Leave a Reply

